LibGuides: Subject Guides: Zora Neale Hurston

Photo

EBSCO Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete stands as a distinguished resource for scholarly investigation. Providing access to 5,795 active full-text journals, this multidisciplinary database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Proquest Historical Newspapers
Featuring nearly 200 historical titles, this newspaper digital archive empowers researchers to digitally travel back through centuries to become eyewitnesses to history.
Ebook Central
Ebook Central delivers with a breadth and depth of ebooks from scholarly sources, including university presses and other top publishers.

Noodletools
Use the Google sign-in and log in with your Cate account. Noodletools will help you create citations and organize your research.

Email Me

All-black towns across America: Life was hard but full of promise
Article about history of all-black towns in U.S.
Zora Neale Hurston's Hometown Legacy | The New York Times
Video produced by NYT about Hurston's relationship with Eatonville
Dust Tracks on a Road
Scroll through to read Chapter 1: "My Birthplace" from Hurston's autobiography
Following the dust tracks: Touring Florida through the eyes of Zora Neale Hurston
Zora Neale Hurston and a History of Southern Life
"[U}ses the ethnographic and literary work of Zora Neale Hurston to augment the few official documents, newspaper accounts, and family records that pertain to these places hidden from history."

DPLA Primary Source Set
A set of primary source documents related to Their Eyes Were Watching God

Mules and Men
Skim the preface, introduction, and first chapter of this collection of folklore documented by Zora Neale Hurston
Mules and Men and Women: Zora Neale Hurston's Strategies of Narration and Visions of Female Empowerment
The Full, True Flavor of Life in a Negro Community: MULES AND MEN. By Zora Neale Hurston
1935 NYT review of Mules and Men
Folklore and Music
Essay on the core principles of Boasian cultural relativism by Zora Neale Hurston
Zora Neale Hurston
Official website of Zora Neale Hurston
Florida Folklife from the WPA Collections, 1937 to 1942
"[C]ombines sound recordings and manuscript materials from four discrete archival collections made by Work Projects Administration (WPA) workers from the Joint Committee on Folk Arts, the Federal Writers' Project, and the Federal Music Project from 1937-42. This online presentation provides access to 376 sound recordings and 106 accompanying materials, including recording logs, transcripts, correspondence between Florida WPA workers and Library of Congress personnel, and a proposal to survey Florida folklore by Zora Neale Hurston."

Hear Zora Neale Hurston Sing Traditional American Folk Song “Mule on the Mount” (1939)
Read about Zora Neale Hurston’s ethnographic fieldwork as a Guggenheim fellow and through President Roosevelt’s Works Progress Administration (lots of embedded links!)
Florida Memory Project
Click Documents and Media > Audio > Sound Recordings by Zora Neale Hurston to access recordings of folk songs collected by Zora Neale Hurston
Preserving Songs and Culture: Zora Neale Hurston and the Federal Writers’ Project
A short lesson plan with links to recordings
ROOTS IN THE ARCHIVE: Zora Neale Hurston’s Song-Collecting Recordings
Sonic Zora in Florida
In this media-enhanced excerpt from Liner Notes for the Revolution: The Intellectual Life of Black Feminist Sound (Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 2021), Daphne A. Brooks delves into Zora Neale Hurston's 1939 experiences as the only Black woman on the staff of the Federal Writers Project's Florida Guide.